Reading Specialist Program (Certification Only)

Students who complete the program of study for the Reading Specialist Certificate should possess the competencies necessary to earn the master’s degree; teach reading in prekindergarten through grade 12; development, remedial or clinical settings; supervise or direct reading programs; and qualify for professional positions in the State of Texas for which the Reading Specialist Certificate is required. 

RDG 520Literacy and Instruction I: Literacy Foundations In Emergent and Early Readers3
RDG 521Literacy & Instruction II: Comprehension Processes and Strategies in Later Elem., MS, & HS3
RDG 523Promoting Literacy Through Language Acquisition and Development3
RDG 528Centering and Integrating Authentic Writing Experiences in the Literacy Classroom3
RDG 540Content Area Literacy3
RDG 560Literacy Assessment3
RDG 562Critical Issues in Lit Edu3
RDG 567Practicum in Literacy Assessment/Intervention, Coaching, and Campus Leadership in Elem., MS & HS3
Total Hours24

Print or Download a PDF of this page