This is an archived copy of the 2011-12 catalog. To access the most recent version of the catalog, please visit

Graduate Council

The Graduate Council consists of four elected members from each of the three colleges: Arts and Sciences, Business and Technology and Education and Human Services. In addition, one faculty member from each college is appointed by the Dean of Graduate Studies and Research in consultation with the dean of the respective college and two graduate students are elected by the graduate student body.

The Dean of Graduate Studies and Research is an ex officio member and serves as chairman of the Graduate Council. The Assistant Dean is an ex officio member and serves as vice chair.

The Graduate Council formulates procedures related to all graduate programs subject to the policies, rules and regulations of the Texas A&M University System.

Graduate Council Members


Name Term Expires
College of Humanities, Social Sciences & Arts
Dr. Donna Dunbar-Odom 2012
Mr. Michael Miller 2013
Dr. JoAnn DiGeorgio 2014  
College of Science, Engineering & Agriculture  
Dr. Ben Cranor 2012
Dr. Jeff Kopachena 2013
Dr. Bob Williams 2014
College of Business
Dr. Randy Odom 2012
Dr. John Greenhut 2013
Dr. Kishor Guru-Gharana 2014
College of Education and Human Services  
Dr. Joyce Miller 2012
Dr. Linda Ball 2013
Dr. Tara Tietjen-Smith 2014
Graduate School  
Dr. Allan Headley, Dean of Graduate Studies and Research  
Dr. Mary Beth Sampson, Vice Chair  
Ms. Kim Laird, Doctoral Student Representative  2012
Ms. Nance' A Headley, Master’s Student Representative  2012