This is an archived copy of the 2008-09 catalog. To access the most recent version of the catalog, please visit

Graduate Council

The Graduate Council consists of four elected members from each of the three colleges: Arts and Sciences, Business and Technology and Education and Human Services. In addition, one faculty member from each college is appointed by the Dean of Graduate Studies and Research in consultation with the dean of the respective college and two graduate students are elected by the graduate student body.

The Dean of Graduate Studies and Research is an ex officio member and serves as chairman of the Graduate Council. The Assistant Dean is an ex officio member and serves as vice chair.

The Graduate Council formulates procedures related to all graduate programs subject to the policies, rules and regulations of the Texas A&M University System.

Graduate Council Members


Name Term Expires
College of Arts and Sciences  
Dr. Sharon Kowalsky 2011
Dr. Derek Royal 2009
Dr. John Hanners 2010
Dr. Ben Jang 2011
Dr. Jeff Kopachena 2010
College of Business and Technology  
Dr. John Humphreys 2011
Dr. Janet Walker 2008
Dr. Dayle Yeager 2009
Dr. Steven Shwiff 2011
College of Education and Human Services  
Dr. Ken Alford 2010
Dr. Chester Robinson 2009
Dr. Linda Openshaw 2010
Dr. Jon Travis 2011
Dr. Harry Fullwood 2009
Graduate School  
Dr. Allan Headley, Dean of Graduate Studies and Research  
Dr. Mary Beth Sampson, Interim Vice Chair  
Doctoral Student Representative  
Master’s Student Representative